Department of Labor filing

Black Hills Institute of Geological Research, 401(k) plan

BLACK HILLS INSTITUTE OF GEOLOGICAL RESEARCH 401(K) PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2025

Spot something wrong?
Latest public filing 2025 · received Jun 9, 2026

Plan summary

Start with the match, vesting, and fees

Our read: The employer contribution is documented. Vesting is not confirmed yet. Reported employer money is near the middle of its peer group.

62Plan health
from public filings
See what drives the plan health score
Employer contributions versus peers63/10030% of the full model
Lower reported administrative cost35/10020% of the full model
Active-participant trend50/10010% of the full model
Net-asset trend50/10010% of the full model
Reported compliance signals100/10010% of the full model
Filing completeness100/10010% of the full model

Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.

Employer matchSee verified formula

tainment of age 65, total and permanent disability, or death.

Value at $100,000 of paySee formula

There is not enough detail for a reliable example.

Fees paid by employeesSee how costs are paid

ome 135,987,945   Other income:  Interest received on notes receivable from participants 833,025   Total additions to net assets 203,141,397   Deductions from net assets:  Administrative expenses ( 198,018 ) Benefits paid to participants ( 80,429,078 ) Total deductions from net assets ( 80,627,096 )  Increase in net assets available for benefits 122,514,301   Net assets available for benefits:  Beginning of year 811,221,284 End of year $ 933,735,585 See Notes to Financial Statements .

Investment menuPlan choices documented

the participant’s vested account.

When you can joinA waiting period applies

(the “Committee”).

Automatic enrollment6% default rate

nd Vesting — Employees meeting certain criteria, as defined in the Plan, are eligible to participate in the Plan one month following their date of employment.

Roth 401(k)Offered

therwise are automatically enrolled in the Plan with a taxable compensation deferral rate of 6 % on a pre-tax basis. Participants are permitted to designate their contributions as Roth contributions subject to current taxation as wages but which, together with earnings, would be nontaxable when distributed from the Plan, and participants may elect to have certain vested assets held on an after-tax and pre-tax basis converted to be considered designated Roth contributions. Contributions withheld are invested in accordance with the participants’ directions. Participants are also allowed to make rollover contributions of amounts received from other eligible tax-qualified retirement plans (including rollover contributions of Roth contributions). Such contributions are deposited in the appropri

Employer money vs. similar plans63th percentile

Up 0.0% over the filing history shown.

Not in the public documents: vesting

These details are often found in employee-only plan documents. We do not fill in an answer without a dated source.

Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.

Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. Today’s benefit rules require a current plan document.

Filing comparison · 202555out of 100 among similar-size plans in the same industry when enough peers exist

How this filing compares

Reported employer contributions63rd percentileTypical peer $1,050 · based on 5,136 comparable plans
Lower reported administrative expense35th percentileTypical peer $36 · based on 4,851 comparable plans

This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.

Peer-group method: industry size. The comparison used the most specific peer group with enough valid filings.

The short version

What employees should know

For the year ended Dec 31, 2025, BLACK HILLS INSTITUTE OF GEOLOGICAL RESEARCH, INC. reported $37,438 in employer contributions across this plan, or $1,702 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.

People actively participating22

Up 0.0% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.

Employer money over timeUp 0.0%

Change in employer contributions per active participant.

Plan costs over timeUp 0.0%

Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.

Peer comparison55/100

Compared with similarly sized plans in the same industry.

What this public record cannot answer

For the current match, vesting rules, eligibility, employee fees, and investment choices, we need a recent plan document. We leave those details blank until we have one.

Money and scale

Contributions, assets, and expenses

These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.

Employer contributions
$37,438
$1,702 per active participant
Participant contributions
$63,386
Other contributions
$0
Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
Employer share of contributions
37.1%
Active participants
22
Small plan
Total participants
22
18 at the beginning of the year
Ending assets
$773,671
$35,167 per participant
Net-asset change
Up 0.0%
Not the same as investment performance
Beginning net assets
$567,278
Ending net assets
$773,671
Beginning liabilities
$0
Ending liabilities
$0
Total income
$211,475
Total expenses
$5,082
Administrative expenses
$1,989
$90 per active participant
Participant loans
Not reported
Not reported of plan assets

Three-year filing history

How the reported figures changed

Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.

Employer money per active participant
2025
$1,702
Administrative cost per participant
2025
$90
Active participants
2025
22
Total plan assets
2025
$773,671
Participant loans as a share of assets
2025
Not reported
Detailed filing history
Plan yearEmployer money per active participantActive participantsPlan assets
2025$1,70222773.7K

Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.

Plan health

Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures

Participant loans as a share of plan assets
Not reported
Independent accountant’s opinion
Not stated in the filing
Late participant contributions reported
Not reportedA “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
Loan defaults reported
Not reported
Lease defaults reported
Not reportedOnly a small number of filings report these events.
Nonexempt transactions reported
Not reported
Public plan identifier
460345369-001

Reported plan details

Identity and filing status

Plan type
Retirement plan
Employer arrangement
1
Plan effective date
Jan 1, 2023
Industry
Arts, entertainment, and recreation
Amended filing
No
Final filing for this plan
No
Short plan year
No
401(k) feature reported
Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes2A2E2F2G2J2K2S2T3D

Current plan terms

Help fill the gap the filing leaves.

If you have a current SPD, fee disclosure, or enrollment guide, you can share it with us. We check the source and date before adding anything to the profile.

Share a document →

Filing evidence

Open the selected public records

We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.

Filing ACK_ID20260609144653NAL0011697730001
Data sourceDOL Form 5500 bulk data ↗
Filing searchEFAST2 ↗