Compare two employers

THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES vs. LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION

Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.

vs.

Use your numbers

What could each 401(k) add to the offer?

Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.

THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES
LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION
THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES has the higher estimated vested employer value under these assumptions.

This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.

EstimateTHE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIESLOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION
Estimated employer money each year$10,000$4,000
Possible first-year employer money$10,000Not available
Your contribution each year$10,000$8,000
Employer money vested when you leave$30,000$12,000

THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES: what to confirm

Match: For most nonunion employees, Boeing matches 100% of contributions up to 10% of eligible pay. Eligible student-loan payments can also count toward the company match. Union and employee-group formulas may differ.

Vesting: Your contributions and Boeing's contributions are immediately 100% vested.

Eligibility: Eligible employees of Boeing and participating subsidiaries can generally join the plan on their first day of employment.

Employee fees: Plan expenses are generally paid from plan assets through the shared master trust unless Boeing is legally required to pay them or chooses to do so. These costs reduce investment returns rather than appearing as a separate expense in the plan's annual statement.

LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION: what to confirm

Match: Lockheed Martin matches 50% of contributions up to 8% of base pay—a maximum match equal to 4% of base pay. Eligible business units may also receive a profit-sharing contribution of up to 6%.

Vesting: Your contributions and Lockheed Martin's matching contributions are immediately 100% vested. Profit-sharing contributions for employees hired in 2025 or later vest 20% per year and become fully vested after five years.

Eligibility: Eligible salaried employees are enrolled when hired unless they decline participation.

Employee fees: The plan pays direct administrative expenses, while Lockheed Martin pays certain indirect expenses. Investment returns shown in participant accounts are net of applicable expenses.

This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.

Plain-English comparison

Where each plan appears stronger

  • THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES has the higher current benefit quality score.
  • There is not enough comparable data to name a plan-health leader.
  • THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
  • LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
  • The same number of current benefit fields has been reviewed for both employers.

This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.

THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES

THE BOEING COMPANY 401(K) RETIREMENT PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
90/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 6 available measures.
Current benefit quality
88/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 7 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
7 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedFor most nonunion employees, Boeing matches 100% of contributions up to 10% of eligible pay. Eligible student-loan payments can also count toward the company match. Union and employee-group formulas may differ.
Potential employer value
$10,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 10% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedYour contributions and Boeing's contributions are immediately 100% vested.
Participation
66% proxy143,146 active participants ÷ 217,061 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$0 per participantPlan expenses are generally paid from plan assets through the shared master trust unless Boeing is legally required to pay them or chooses to do so. These costs reduce investment returns rather than appearing as a separate expense in the plan's annual statement.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION

LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION HOURLY EMPLOYEE SAVINGS PLAN PLUS

2024 filing
Plan health score
Not enough reliable dataWe publish a score only when at least four measures and half of the model are available.
Current benefit quality
78/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
7 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedLockheed Martin matches 50% of contributions up to 8% of base pay—a maximum match equal to 4% of base pay. Eligible business units may also receive a profit-sharing contribution of up to 6%.
Potential employer value
$4,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 8% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedYour contributions and Lockheed Martin's matching contributions are immediately 100% vested. Profit-sharing contributions for employees hired in 2025 or later vest 20% per year and become fully vested after five years.
Participation
68% proxy6,626 active participants ÷ 9,718 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$10 per participantThe plan pays direct administrative expenses, while Lockheed Martin pays certain indirect expenses. Investment returns shown in participant accounts are net of applicable expenses.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

Same filing measures

See the scale of the difference

Employer money per active participant
THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES$9,911
LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION$2,982
Plan-paid costs per participant
THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES$0
LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION$10
Active participants
THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES143,146
LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION6,626

Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.

History, not a snapshot

THE BOEING CO. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES

Employer money per active participant
2022
$10,962
2023
$11,146
2024
$9,911
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$0
2023
$0
2024
$0
Active participants
2022
128,909
2023
139,394
2024
143,146
Total plan assets
2022
$63,503,643,295
2023
$72,246,135,158
2024
$73,910,477,714
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
0.9%
2023
0.9%
2024
1.0%

LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION

Employer money per active participant
2022
$1,823
2023
$2,530
2024
$2,982
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$12
2023
$9
2024
$10
Active participants
2022
15,472
2023
10,760
2024
6,626
Total plan assets
2022
$1,690,585,938
2023
$1,528,001,078
2024
$1,171,031,160
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
2.9%
2023
2.7%
2024
2.5%
Read this comparison carefully

Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.