THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. vs. JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.
Use your numbers
What could each 401(k) add to the offer?
Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.
This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.
EstimateTHE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
Estimated employer money each year$12,500$5,000
Possible first-year employer money$12,500Not available
Your contribution each year$6,000$5,000
Employer money vested when you leave$37,500Not available
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.: what to confirm
Match: Goldman Sachs matches eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar, up to an annual maximum company match of $12,500. Eligible employees earning under $125,000 may also receive a fixed contribution equal to 2% of pay, and some participants qualify for an additional retirement contribution of up to $4,000.
Vesting: Your contributions are immediately vested. Goldman Sachs matching and fixed contributions become fully vested after two years of service; additional retirement contributions generally vest after three years. Earlier vesting can apply at age 65, disability, death, or plan termination.
Eligibility: Eligible employees can generally begin contributing the first day of the month after hire. Match and fixed-contribution eligibility generally begins after hire and attainment of age 21.
Employee fees: Custodial, administrative, and investment-advisory expenses can be paid by the plan when Goldman Sachs does not pay them. Investment costs reduce plan assets; the filing does not state one flat fee for every employee.
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION: what to confirm
Match: After one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.
Vesting: Ask for the current vesting schedule.
Eligibility: Ask when contributions and the match begin.
Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.
This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.
Plain-English comparison
Where each plan appears stronger
There is not enough reviewed current information to compare overall benefit quality.
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION has the higher filing-based plan health score.
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. currently has more reviewed benefit details.
This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.
THE GOLDMAN SACHS 401(K) PLAN
2024 filing
Plan health score
65/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
76/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedGoldman Sachs matches eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar, up to an annual maximum company match of $12,500. Eligible employees earning under $125,000 may also receive a fixed contribution equal to 2% of pay, and some participants qualify for an additional retirement contribution of up to $4,000.
Potential employer value
$12,500 a year at $100,000 paySpecial limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedYour contributions are immediately vested. Goldman Sachs matching and fixed contributions become fully vested after two years of service; additional retirement contributions generally vest after three years. Earlier vesting can apply at age 65, disability, death, or plan termination.
Participation
48% proxy23,891 active participants ÷ 49,526 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$332 per participantCustodial, administrative, and investment-advisory expenses can be paid by the plan when Goldman Sachs does not pay them. Investment costs reduce plan assets; the filing does not state one flat fee for every employee.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
71/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
Not enough reviewed termsThe match plus at least three other current benefit measures must be documented.
Current benefits verified
1 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAfter one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.
Potential employer value
$5,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 5% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Not verifiedA dated plan document is still needed.
Participation
62% proxy185,310 active participants ÷ 300,272 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$73 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.
History, not a snapshot
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.
Employer money per active participant
2022
$8,533
2023
$8,907
2024
$8,403
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$321
2023
$309
2024
$332
Active participants
2022
24,866
2023
23,227
2024
23,891
Total plan assets
2022
$9,681,988,279
2023
$11,428,659,742
2024
$12,807,939,404
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
0.3%
2023
0.3%
2024
0.2%
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
Employer money per active participant
2022
$5,528
2023
$6,039
2024
$6,810
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$65
2023
$64
2024
$73
Active participants
2022
176,168
2023
185,180
2024
185,310
Total plan assets
2022
$36,787,229,834
2023
$44,552,237,022
2024
$52,913,457,500
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.4%
2023
1.3%
2024
1.2%
Read this comparison carefully
Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.
Goldman Sachs vs. JPMorgan 401(k): Match, Fees, Vesting and Plan Review | 401(k) Plan Report