Compare two employers

THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. vs. MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.

Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.

vs.

Use your numbers

What could each 401(k) add to the offer?

Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.

THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.
MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.

This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.

EstimateTHE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.
Estimated employer money each year$12,500Not available
Possible first-year employer money$12,500Not available
Your contribution each year$6,000$6,000
Employer money vested when you leave$37,500Not available

THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.: what to confirm

Match: Goldman Sachs matches eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar, up to an annual maximum company match of $12,500. Eligible employees earning under $125,000 may also receive a fixed contribution equal to 2% of pay, and some participants qualify for an additional retirement contribution of up to $4,000.

Vesting: Your contributions are immediately vested. Goldman Sachs matching and fixed contributions become fully vested after two years of service; additional retirement contributions generally vest after three years. Earlier vesting can apply at age 65, disability, death, or plan termination.

Eligibility: Eligible employees can generally begin contributing the first day of the month after hire. Match and fixed-contribution eligibility generally begins after hire and attainment of age 21.

Employee fees: Custodial, administrative, and investment-advisory expenses can be paid by the plan when Goldman Sachs does not pay them. Investment costs reduce plan assets; the filing does not state one flat fee for every employee.

MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.: what to confirm

Match: For most eligible employees earning $275,001 or less, Morgan Stanley matched employee contributions dollar for dollar through 5% of eligible pay in 2024. Some higher-paid employees and employees receiving a separate fixed contribution had a maximum 4% match.

Vesting: Employee contributions are immediately vested. Company contributions generally become fully vested after three years of service, with earlier vesting after qualifying retirement, death, disability, or certain employment releases.

Eligibility: U.S. benefits-eligible full-time, part-time, and hourly employees of participating companies can generally participate. Interns, summer associates, contingent workers, contractors, and most non-U.S. workers are excluded.

Employee fees: The plan pays administration costs unless Morgan Stanley chooses to cover them. Participants pay fees for loans, distributions, and qualified domestic relations orders. Investment-management and transaction costs are paid by the plan and reduce investment income.

This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.

Plain-English comparison

Where each plan appears stronger

  • THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. has the higher current benefit quality score.
  • THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. has the higher filing-based plan health score.
  • THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC. ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
  • MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC. ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
  • The same number of current benefit fields has been reviewed for both employers.

This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.

THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.

THE GOLDMAN SACHS 401(K) PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
65/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
76/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedGoldman Sachs matches eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar, up to an annual maximum company match of $12,500. Eligible employees earning under $125,000 may also receive a fixed contribution equal to 2% of pay, and some participants qualify for an additional retirement contribution of up to $4,000.
Potential employer value
$12,500 a year at $100,000 paySpecial limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedYour contributions are immediately vested. Goldman Sachs matching and fixed contributions become fully vested after two years of service; additional retirement contributions generally vest after three years. Earlier vesting can apply at age 65, disability, death, or plan termination.
Participation
48% proxy23,891 active participants ÷ 49,526 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$332 per participantCustodial, administrative, and investment-advisory expenses can be paid by the plan when Goldman Sachs does not pay them. Investment costs reduce plan assets; the filing does not state one flat fee for every employee.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.

MORGAN STANLEY 401(K) PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
62/100 · FairHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
68/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedFor most eligible employees earning $275,001 or less, Morgan Stanley matched employee contributions dollar for dollar through 5% of eligible pay in 2024. Some higher-paid employees and employees receiving a separate fixed contribution had a maximum 4% match.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedEmployee contributions are immediately vested. Company contributions generally become fully vested after three years of service, with earlier vesting after qualifying retirement, death, disability, or certain employment releases.
Participation
67% proxy54,084 active participants ÷ 80,789 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$211 per participantThe plan pays administration costs unless Morgan Stanley chooses to cover them. Participants pay fees for loans, distributions, and qualified domestic relations orders. Investment-management and transaction costs are paid by the plan and reduce investment income.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

Same filing measures

See the scale of the difference

Employer money per active participant
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.$8,403
MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.$7,353
Plan-paid costs per participant
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.$332
MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.$211
Active participants
THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.23,891
MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.54,084

Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.

History, not a snapshot

THE GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP, INC.

Employer money per active participant
2022
$8,533
2023
$8,907
2024
$8,403
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$321
2023
$309
2024
$332
Active participants
2022
24,866
2023
23,227
2024
23,891
Total plan assets
2022
$9,681,988,279
2023
$11,428,659,742
2024
$12,807,939,404
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
0.3%
2023
0.3%
2024
0.2%

MORGAN STANLEY DOMESTIC HOLDINGS, INC.

Employer money per active participant
2022
$7,084
2023
$7,275
2024
$7,353
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$239
2023
$199
2024
$211
Active participants
2022
51,602
2023
54,356
2024
54,084
Total plan assets
2022
$16,415,517,176
2023
$19,235,068,266
2024
$22,180,692,974
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
0.8%
2023
0.7%
2024
0.6%
Read this comparison carefully

Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.