Compare two employers

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION vs. WELLS FARGO & COMPANY

Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.

vs.

Use your numbers

What could each 401(k) add to the offer?

Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
WELLS FARGO & COMPANY
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.

This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.

EstimateJPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONWELLS FARGO & COMPANY
Estimated employer money each year$5,000$6,000
Possible first-year employer moneyNot available$6,000
Your contribution each year$5,000$6,000
Employer money vested when you leaveNot availableNot available

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION: what to confirm

Match: After one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.

Vesting: Ask for the current vesting schedule.

Eligibility: Ask when contributions and the match begin.

Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.

WELLS FARGO & COMPANY: what to confirm

Match: After one year of service, Wells Fargo matches 100% of contributions up to 6% of eligible pay. Employees earning under $75,000 may also receive a separate employer contribution equal to 1% of eligible pay. Employer contributions are generally made at year-end and require employment on December 15, with limited exceptions.

Vesting: Your own contributions are always yours. Employees hired in 2021 or later generally become fully vested in matching contributions after three years; employees hired earlier are fully vested. The 1% base contribution also follows three-year vesting.

Eligibility: Eligible employees can begin contributing on the first day of the month after completing one calendar month of service. Employer match and base-contribution eligibility generally begin after one year.

Employee fees: Wells Fargo generally pays plan administration costs. Participants bear some investment-management and recordkeeping fees, and people who use managed accounts, overnight delivery, or qualified domestic relations order services pay those charges directly.

This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.

Plain-English comparison

Where each plan appears stronger

  • There is not enough reviewed current information to compare overall benefit quality.
  • WELLS FARGO & COMPANY has the higher filing-based plan health score.
  • JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
  • WELLS FARGO & COMPANY ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
  • WELLS FARGO & COMPANY currently has more reviewed benefit details.

This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

JPMORGAN CHASE 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
71/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
Not enough reviewed termsThe match plus at least three other current benefit measures must be documented.
Current benefits verified
1 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAfter one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.
Potential employer value
$5,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 5% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Not verifiedA dated plan document is still needed.
Participation
62% proxy185,310 active participants ÷ 300,272 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$73 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

WELLS FARGO & COMPANY

WELLS FARGO & COMPANY 401(K) PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
82/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
76/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAfter one year of service, Wells Fargo matches 100% of contributions up to 6% of eligible pay. Employees earning under $75,000 may also receive a separate employer contribution equal to 1% of eligible pay. Employer contributions are generally made at year-end and require employment on December 15, with limited exceptions.
Potential employer value
$6,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 6% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedYour own contributions are always yours. Employees hired in 2021 or later generally become fully vested in matching contributions after three years; employees hired earlier are fully vested. The 1% base contribution also follows three-year vesting.
Participation
65% proxy167,176 active participants ÷ 255,580 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$34 per participantWells Fargo generally pays plan administration costs. Participants bear some investment-management and recordkeeping fees, and people who use managed accounts, overnight delivery, or qualified domestic relations order services pay those charges directly.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

Same filing measures

See the scale of the difference

Employer money per active participant
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION$6,810
WELLS FARGO & COMPANY$6,154
Plan-paid costs per participant
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION$73
WELLS FARGO & COMPANY$34
Active participants
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION185,310
WELLS FARGO & COMPANY167,176

Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.

History, not a snapshot

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Employer money per active participant
2022
$5,528
2023
$6,039
2024
$6,810
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$65
2023
$64
2024
$73
Active participants
2022
176,168
2023
185,180
2024
185,310
Total plan assets
2022
$36,787,229,834
2023
$44,552,237,022
2024
$52,913,457,500
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.4%
2023
1.3%
2024
1.2%

WELLS FARGO & COMPANY

Employer money per active participant
2022
$5,324
2023
$5,422
2024
$6,154
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$6
2023
$18
2024
$34
Active participants
2022
192,694
2023
178,049
2024
167,176
Total plan assets
2022
$45,765,616,608
2023
$51,831,350,351
2024
$57,886,997,456
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.6%
2023
1.4%
2024
1.2%
Read this comparison carefully

Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.