Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp 401(k) plan
COX, CASTLE & NICHOLSON LLP RETIREMENT PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2024
Legal plan sponsor: COX, CASTLE & NICHOLSON LLP
Plan summary
Start with the match, vesting, and fees
This looks strong based on reviewed current plan terms. We have 4 of 7 key current terms documented. Keep checking the source links because plan rules can change.
Why: The employer contribution is documented. Vesting is not confirmed yet. The latest filing also shows more employer money than most similar plans.
from current terms
from public filings
documented
See what drives the plan health score
Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.
See what drives the benefit quality score
This separate score uses reviewed current terms only. It requires the employer contribution plus at least three other documented benefit measures. Missing terms are excluded, not treated as poor benefits.
For employees hired or rehired after March 31, 2017, Cox contributes 2% of eligible pay automatically and matches employee contributions dollar for dollar through 6%.
Check the source ↓Based on the published formula. Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.
Vesting decides how much employer money you keep if you leave before staying long enough.
The key document is the participant fee disclosure, especially fund expense ratios and account charges.
The plan is administered by Vanguard and offers multiple investment choices, planning tools, and investment education.
Full- and part-time employees gain access to the enhanced-match plan after 90 days of employment.
Automatic enrollment and auto-increase features usually help more employees save consistently.
Available. Cox permits both traditional pre-tax and Roth contributions.
Up 12.8% over the filing history shown.
Participation up 6.2% · assets up 44.5% · loans 0.2% of assets
How this is calculated →See score distributions →Current terms to confirm: vesting, employee fees, automatic enrollment
These details are often kept in employee-only plan documents. We show them when there is a dated source clear enough to trust.
Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.
Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.
The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.
How this filing compares
This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.
Peer-group method: industry size. The comparison used the most specific peer group with enough valid filings.
The short version
What employees should know
For the year ended Dec 31, 2024, COX, CASTLE & NICHOLSON LLP reported $4,857,550 in employer contributions across this plan, or $28,407 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.
Up 6.2% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.
Change in employer contributions per active participant.
Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.
Compared with similarly sized plans in the same industry.
Money and scale
Contributions, assets, and expenses
These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.
- Employer contributions
- $4,857,550 $28,407 per active participant
- Participant contributions
- $2,898,892
- Other contributions
- $2,523,618 Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
- Employer share of contributions
- 62.6%
- Active participants
- 171 Mid-size plan
- Total participants
- 248 250 at the beginning of the year
- Ending assets
- $269,943,269 $1,088,481 per participant
- Net-asset change
- Up 44.5% Not the same as investment performance
- Beginning net assets
- $236,310,014
- Ending net assets
- $269,943,269
- Beginning liabilities
- $0
- Ending liabilities
- $0
- Total income
- $45,194,142
- Total expenses
- $11,832,663
- Administrative expenses
- $490,031 $1,960 per active participant
- Participant loans
- $544,372 0.2% of plan assets
Three-year filing history
How the reported figures changed
Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.
| Plan year | Employer money per active participant | Active participants | Plan assets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $28,407 | 171 | 269.9M |
| 2023 | $26,911 | 168 | 236.3M |
| 2022 | $25,191 | 161 | 186.8M |
Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.
Plan health
Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures
- Participant loans as a share of plan assets
- 0.2%
- Independent accountant’s opinion
- Unqualified opinion Code 1
- Late participant contributions reported
- Not reportedA “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
- Loan defaults reported
- 0
- Lease defaults reported
- 0Only a small number of filings report these events.
- Nonexempt transactions reported
- 0
- Public plan identifier
- 952547124-003
Insurance and supporting schedules
Additional arrangements reported
These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.
- Additional paid service providers
- 3$488,877 in separately reported direct compensation
- Pooled investment entities
- 1$3,144,601 reported at year end
Reported plan details
Identity and filing status
- Plan type
- Retirement plan
- Employer arrangement
- Single-employer plan
- Plan effective date
- Dec 1, 1993
- Industry
- Professional, scientific, and technical services
- Amended filing
- No
- Final filing for this plan
- No
- Short plan year
- No
- 401(k) feature reported
- Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes
2A2E2F2G2J2K2R2S2T3B3D
Companies paid by the plans
Service providers named in the latest filings
Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.
| Provider | Possible role | How certain? | Plan year | Direct compensation | Indirect compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MATRIX TRUST COMPANY | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| MSCS FINANCIAL | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
Current plan terms
What the source documents say
Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.
- Employer contribution
- For employees hired or rehired after March 31, 2017, Cox contributes 2% of eligible pay automatically and matches employee contributions dollar for dollar through 6%. That makes the maximum standard employer contribution 8% of eligible pay. Earlier hires and collectively bargained employees may have different terms.
- Eligibility
- Full- and part-time employees gain access to the enhanced-match plan after 90 days of employment. Earlier hires and collectively bargained employees may have different retirement benefits.
- Investment information
- The plan is administered by Vanguard and offers multiple investment choices, planning tools, and investment education. The public page does not identify the default fund.
- Roth contributions
- Available. Cox permits both traditional pre-tax and Roth contributions.
Not covered by the source: 3 items
vesting, automatic enrollment, participant fees. Check the latest summary plan description or enrollment materials for these details.
Source: Cox Enterprises — Retirement benefits ↗ · dated Aug 29, 2026
Filing evidence
Open the selected public records
We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.
Quick answers
Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp 401(k) questions
What is Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp's 401(k) match?
The reviewed current source says: For employees hired or rehired after March 31, 2017, Cox contributes 2% of eligible pay automatically and matches employee contributions dollar for dollar through 6%. That makes the maximum standard employer contribution 8% of eligible pay. Earlier hires and collectively bargained employees may have different terms.
How much employer money did Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp report adding?
For 2024, the selected filing reports $4,857,550 in employer contributions, or $28,407 per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.
What is Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp's 401(k) vesting schedule?
We have not verified the current vesting schedule yet. Ask for the latest SPD or benefits guide before counting employer money as fully yours.
What are Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp's 401(k) fees?
The 2024 filing reports $1,960 in administrative cost per active participant. Fund expenses and employee-level charges may require a current fee disclosure.
Can I use this page to compare Cox, Castle & Nicholson Llp with another job offer?
Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.