Department of Labor filing

Delta Air Lines, 401(k) plan

5 retirement plans combined · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2024

Spot something wrong?
Latest public filing 2024 · received Oct 14, 2025Current benefit source Delta 2025 Compensation and Total Rewards report · dated Dec 31, 2025

Plan summary

Start with the match, vesting, and fees

Not enough current data

Use this page as a filing review, then confirm the current match, vesting, fees, eligibility and fund menu before making a decision.

Why: The employer match is one of the plan's stronger features. Vesting is not confirmed yet. Reported employer money is near the middle of its peer group.

2/7Limited current-term coverage
documented
Employer match100% up to 6%Strong

For most ground and flight-attendant employees, Delta automatically contributes 3% of eligible pay and also matches 100% of employee contributions up to 6%.

Check the source ↓
Value at $100,000 of pay$6,000 a year

Assumes you contribute enough to earn the full match (6% of pay). Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.

When the money is yoursAsk about vesting

Vesting decides how much employer money you keep if you leave before staying long enough.

Fees paid by employeesAsk for fee disclosure

The key document is the participant fee disclosure, especially fund expense ratios and account charges.

Investment menuAsk for fund lineup

Look for low-cost index funds, target-date funds, stable-value or bond options, and any brokerage window.

When you can joinA waiting period applies

Delta states that the primary formula applies to most ground and flight-attendant employees; other workgroups may have different terms.

Automatic enrollmentAsk if automatic

Automatic enrollment and auto-increase features usually help more employees save consistently.

Roth 401(k)Ask if offered

Roth availability matters if you want after-tax contributions inside the workplace plan.

Employer money vs. similar plans$12,464

Up 34.0% over the filing history shown.

Plan healthSee the filing history

Participation up 9.5% · assets up 41.2% · loans 1.4% of assets

Current terms to confirm: vesting, employee fees, investment choices, automatic enrollment, Roth availability

These details are often kept in employee-only plan documents. We show them when there is a dated source clear enough to trust.

Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.

Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.

Need the raw filing detail?

The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.

Personalized estimate

What could Delta Air Lines,'s contribution mean for you?

This uses the reviewed employer formula shown on this profile—not the plan-wide Form 5500 contribution average.

Estimated employer money$5,100/year
Your annual contribution
$5,100
Possible maximum
$5,100
Potentially unclaimed
$0

Contributing about 6% of eligible pay captures the documented maximum under this simplified estimate.

Estimate only. Compensation limits, eligibility, true-ups, contribution timing, employee groups, and plan amendments can change the result. Confirm the current formula in your plan documents.

The short version

What employees should know

For the year ended Dec 31, 2024, DELTA AIR LINES, INC. reported $1,348,577,160 in employer contributions across its retirement plans, or $12,464 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.

People actively participating108,202

Up 9.5% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.

Employer money over timeUp 34.0%

Change in employer contributions per active participant.

Plan costs over timeUp 35.3%

Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.

Money and scale

Contributions, assets, and expenses

These totals combine every public plan record tied to this employer. They are not individual account balances.

Employer contributions
$1,348,577,160
$12,464 per active participant
Participant contributions
$1,054,541,975
Other contributions
$91,232,691
Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
Employer share of contributions
54.1%
Active participants
108,202
Very large plan
Total participants
137,359
137,555 at the beginning of the year
Ending assets
$35,078,642,249
$255,379 per participant
Net-asset change
Up 41.2%
Not the same as investment performance
Beginning net assets
$29,993,815,804
Ending net assets
$35,078,542,904
Beginning liabilities
$101,250
Ending liabilities
$99,345
Total income
$7,484,130,904
Total expenses
$2,423,901,307
Administrative expenses
$18,534,226
$135 per active participant
Participant loans
$507,768,542
1.4% of plan assets

Three-year filing history

How the reported figures changed

These charts combine the employer’s public plans by filing year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.

Employer money per active participant
2022
$9,300
2023
$10,789
2024
$12,464
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$100
2023
$111
2024
$135
Active participants
2022
98,828
2023
107,619
2024
108,202
Total plan assets
2022
$24,845,708,663
2023
$29,993,917,054
2024
$35,078,642,249
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.4%
2023
1.4%
2024
1.4%
Detailed filing history
Plan yearEmployer money per active participantActive participantsPlan assets
2024$12,464108,20235.1B
2023$10,789107,61930B
2022$9,30098,82824.8B

Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.

Plan health

Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures

Participant loans as a share of plan assets
1.4%
Independent accountant’s opinion
Unqualified opinion Code 1
Late participant contributions reported
Not reportedA “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
Loan defaults reported
0
Lease defaults reported
0Only a small number of filings report these events.
Nonexempt transactions reported
0
Public plan identifier
580218548-004

Insurance and supporting schedules

Additional arrangements reported

These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.

Additional paid service providers
52$19,245,734 in separately reported direct compensation
Compensation reported as formulas
9The filing describes how compensation is calculated but does not provide a comparable dollar total.
Pooled investment entities
5$34,559,328,989 reported at year end

Reported plan details

Identity and filing status

Plan type
Retirement plan
Employer arrangement
Single-employer plan
Plan effective date
Jul 1, 1971
Industry
Transportation and warehousing
Amended filing
No
Final filing for this plan
No
Short plan year
No
401(k) feature reported
Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes2E2F2G2J2K2R2S2T3F3H

Companies paid by the plans

Service providers named in the latest filings

Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.

ProviderPossible roleHow certain?Plan yearDirect compensationIndirect compensation
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONALotherTentative2024Not reportedunknown

All plans from this employer

5 public plan records roll up to this profile

The employer totals above combine these records by year. Open an individual plan for its own filing details.

Current plan terms

What the source documents say

Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.

Employer contribution
For most ground and flight-attendant employees, Delta automatically contributes 3% of eligible pay and also matches 100% of employee contributions up to 6%. Contributing 6% therefore produces total employer money equal to 9% of eligible pay.
Eligibility
Delta states that the primary formula applies to most ground and flight-attendant employees; other workgroups may have different terms.
Not covered by the source: 5 items

vesting, investment information, automatic enrollment, roth contributions, participant fees. Check the latest summary plan description or enrollment materials for these details.

Source: Delta 2025 Compensation and Total Rewards report ↗ · dated Dec 31, 2025

Supporting source: Delta Careers — current benefits overview ↗ · dated Aug 26, 2026

Filing evidence

Open the selected public records

We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.

Quick answers

Delta Air Lines, 401(k) questions

What is Delta Air Lines,'s 401(k) match?

The reviewed current source says: For most ground and flight-attendant employees, Delta automatically contributes 3% of eligible pay and also matches 100% of employee contributions up to 6%. Contributing 6% therefore produces total employer money equal to 9% of eligible pay.

How much employer money did Delta Air Lines, report adding?

For 2024, the selected filing reports $1,348,577,160 in employer contributions, or $12,464 per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.

What is Delta Air Lines,'s 401(k) vesting schedule?

We have not verified the current vesting schedule yet. Ask for the latest SPD or benefits guide before counting employer money as fully yours.

What are Delta Air Lines,'s 401(k) fees?

The 2024 filing reports $135 in administrative cost per active participant. Fund expenses and employee-level charges may require a current fee disclosure.

Can I use this page to compare Delta Air Lines, with another job offer?

Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.

Source evidence

What recent SEC filings may add

These snippets come from official SEC filings connected to the employer. They are useful clues, but we keep them separate from fully reviewed current plan terms.

10-K · filed Feb 11, 2026DELTA AIR LINES, INC. — 10-K filed 2026-02-11 ↗
Fees

accounting policies. Travel-Related Services Travel-related services are primarily composed of services performed in conjunction with a passenger’s flight, including baggage fees, administrative fees and on-board sales. We recognize revenue for these services when the related transportation service is provided. Loyalty Program Our SkyMile…

Eligibility

her welfare benefits to eligible former or inactive employees after employment but before retirement, primarily as part of the disability and survivorship plans. Substantially all employees are eligible for benefits under these plans in the event of death and/or disability. Benefits under our postretirement and postemployment plans are fu…

Filing ACK_IDEMPLOYER-2024
Data sourceDOL Form 5500 bulk data ↗
Filing searchEFAST2 ↗