Google 401(k) plan
GOOGLE LLC 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2024
Legal plan sponsor: GOOGLE LLC
Plan summary
Start with the match, vesting, and fees
This looks strong based on public filing history. We have 1 of 7 key current terms documented. Keep checking the source links because plan rules can change.
Why: The employer contribution is documented. Vesting is not confirmed yet. The latest filing also shows more employer money than most similar plans.
from public filings
documented
See what drives the plan health score
Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.
For 2025, Alphabet reported a match equal to the greater of 100% of contributions up to $3,000 or 50% of contributions up to $23,500, for a maximum $11,750 match for employees under age 50.
Check the source ↓Assumes you contribute enough to earn the full match. Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.
Vesting decides how much employer money you keep if you leave before staying long enough.
The key document is the participant fee disclosure, especially fund expense ratios and account charges.
Look for low-cost index funds, target-date funds, stable-value or bond options, and any brokerage window.
Eligibility tells you when contributions and employer money can start after hire.
Automatic enrollment and auto-increase features usually help more employees save consistently.
Roth availability matters if you want after-tax contributions inside the workplace plan.
Up 21.3% over the filing history shown.
Participation down 7.0% · assets up 68.7% · loans 0.2% of assets
How this is calculated →See score distributions →Current terms to confirm: vesting, employee fees, investment choices, eligibility, automatic enrollment, Roth availability
These details are often kept in employee-only plan documents. We show them when there is a dated source clear enough to trust.
Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.
Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.
The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.
Personalized estimate
What could Google's contribution mean for you?
This uses the reviewed employer formula shown on this profile—not the plan-wide Form 5500 contribution average.
- Your annual contribution
- $5,100
- Possible maximum
- $11,750
- Potentially unclaimed
- $0
Estimate only. Compensation limits, eligibility, true-ups, contribution timing, employee groups, and plan amendments can change the result. Confirm the current formula in your plan documents.
How this filing compares
This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.
Peer-group method: industry size. The comparison used the most specific peer group with enough valid filings.
The short version
What employees should know
For the year ended Dec 31, 2024, GOOGLE LLC reported $1,213,532,482 in employer contributions across this plan, or $10,615 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.
Down 7.0% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.
Change in employer contributions per active participant.
Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.
Compared with similarly sized plans in the same industry.
Money and scale
Contributions, assets, and expenses
These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.
- Employer contributions
- $1,213,532,482 $10,615 per active participant
- Participant contributions
- $3,534,823,621
- Other contributions
- $321,652,611 Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
- Employer share of contributions
- 25.6%
- Active participants
- 114,321 Very large plan
- Total participants
- 155,598 152,774 at the beginning of the year
- Ending assets
- $48,738,057,415 $313,231 per participant
- Net-asset change
- Up 68.7% Not the same as investment performance
- Beginning net assets
- $39,047,152,408
- Ending net assets
- $48,738,057,415
- Beginning liabilities
- $0
- Ending liabilities
- $0
- Total income
- $11,287,425,108
- Total expenses
- $1,596,520,101
- Administrative expenses
- $2,685,747 $18 per active participant
- Participant loans
- $120,942,045 0.2% of plan assets
Three-year filing history
How the reported figures changed
Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.
| Plan year | Employer money per active participant | Active participants | Plan assets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $10,615 | 114,321 | 48.7B |
| 2023 | $10,512 | 116,712 | 39B |
| 2022 | $8,748 | 122,867 | 28.9B |
Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.
Plan health
Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures
- Participant loans as a share of plan assets
- 0.2%
- Independent accountant’s opinion
- Unqualified opinion Code 1
- Late participant contributions reported
- Not reportedA “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
- Loan defaults reported
- 0
- Lease defaults reported
- 0Only a small number of filings report these events.
- Nonexempt transactions reported
- 0
- Public plan identifier
- 770493581-001
Insurance and supporting schedules
Additional arrangements reported
These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.
- Additional paid service providers
- 3$3,003,463 in separately reported direct compensation
- Separately reported indirect compensation
- $181,252May exclude compensation reported only as a formula.
- Compensation reported as formulas
- 143The filing describes how compensation is calculated but does not provide a comparable dollar total.
- Pooled investment entities
- 21$35,442,878,334 reported at year end
Reported plan details
Identity and filing status
- Plan type
- Retirement plan
- Employer arrangement
- Single-employer plan
- Plan effective date
- Jan 1, 1999
- Industry
- Information
- Amended filing
- No
- Final filing for this plan
- No
- Short plan year
- No
- 401(k) feature reported
- Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes
2E2F2G2J2K2R2S2T3F
Companies paid by the plans
Service providers named in the latest filings
Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.
| Provider | Possible role | How certain? | Plan year | Direct compensation | Indirect compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHARLES SCHWAB & CO., INC. | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| CHARLES SCHWAB INVESTMENT MGMT | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC. | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
Current plan terms
What the source documents say
Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.
- Employer contribution
- For 2025, Alphabet reported a match equal to the greater of 100% of contributions up to $3,000 or 50% of contributions up to $23,500, for a maximum $11,750 match for employees under age 50.
Not covered by the source: 6 items
eligibility, vesting, investment information, automatic enrollment, roth contributions, participant fees. Check the latest summary plan description or enrollment materials for these details.
Source: Alphabet 2026 proxy statement — 2025 retirement benefit ↗ · dated Dec 31, 2025
Filing evidence
Open the selected public records
We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.
Quick answers
Google 401(k) questions
What is Google's 401(k) match?
The reviewed current source says: For 2025, Alphabet reported a match equal to the greater of 100% of contributions up to $3,000 or 50% of contributions up to $23,500, for a maximum $11,750 match for employees under age 50.
How much employer money did Google report adding?
For 2024, the selected filing reports $1,213,532,482 in employer contributions, or $10,615 per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.
What is Google's 401(k) vesting schedule?
We have not verified the current vesting schedule yet. Ask for the latest SPD or benefits guide before counting employer money as fully yours.
What are Google's 401(k) fees?
The 2024 filing reports $18 in administrative cost per active participant. Fund expenses and employee-level charges may require a current fee disclosure.
Can I use this page to compare Google with another job offer?
Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.
Source evidence
What recent SEC filings may add
These snippets come from official SEC filings connected to the employer. They are useful clues, but we keep them separate from fully reviewed current plan terms.
Fees
tain customer service functions; and • spend relating to our advertising and promotional activities in support of our products and services. The main components of our general and administrative expenses are: 31. Table of Contents Alphabet Inc. • employee compensation expenses for employees in finance, human resources, information technol…