Department of Labor filing

Microsoft 401(k) plan

MICROSOFT CORPORATION SAVINGS PLUS 401K PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2025

Spot something wrong?
Latest public filing 2025 · received Jul 24, 2026Current benefit source Microsoft Corporation Savings Plus 401(k) Plan — 2024 Form 11-K · dated Dec 31, 2024

Plan summary

Start with the match, vesting, and fees

Excellent

This looks excellent based on reviewed current plan terms. We have 6 of 7 key current terms documented. Keep checking the source links because plan rules can change.

Why: The employer contribution is documented. You own the match immediately. The latest filing also shows more employer money than most similar plans.

86Benefit score
from current terms
65Plan health
from public filings
6/7Strong current-term coverage
documented
See what drives the plan health score
Employer contributions versus peers94/10030% of the full model
Lower reported administrative cost3/10020% of the full model
Active-participant trend46/10010% of the full model
Net-asset trend100/10010% of the full model
Participant-loan burden100/10010% of the full model
Reported compliance signals20/10010% of the full model
Filing completeness100/10010% of the full model

Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.

See what drives the benefit quality score
Documented employer match65/10025% of the full model
Vesting100/10015% of the full model
Employee fee evidence90/10015% of the full model
Investment choices85/10015% of the full model
Eligibility timing100/10010% of the full model
Roth 401(k) access100/10010% of the full model

This separate score uses reviewed current terms only. It requires the employer contribution plus at least three other documented benefit measures. Missing terms are excluded, not treated as poor benefits.

Employer matchUp to $11,500 a year

For most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit.

Check the source ↓
Value at $100,000 of pay$11,500 a year

Assumes you contribute enough to earn the full match (50% of pay). Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.

When the money is yoursImmediately

Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.

Fees paid by employeesSee how costs are paid

Microsoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan.

Investment menuPlan choices documented

Participants direct their accounts among mutual funds, collective trusts, separately managed accounts, and an optional brokerage account.

When you can joinRight away

Regular and retail-services employees of participating employers on U.S.

Automatic enrollmentAsk if automatic

Automatic enrollment and auto-increase features usually help more employees save consistently.

Roth 401(k)Offered

Available. Participants may contribute on a pre-tax and/or Roth basis, subject to plan and IRS limits.

Employer money vs. similar plans94th percentile

Up 9.9% over the filing history shown.

Current terms to confirm: automatic enrollment

These details are often kept in employee-only plan documents. We show them when there is a dated source clear enough to trust.

Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.

Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.

Need the raw filing detail?

The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.

Personalized estimate

What could Microsoft's contribution mean for you?

This uses the reviewed employer formula shown on this profile—not the plan-wide Form 5500 contribution average.

Estimated employer money$11,500/year
Your annual contribution
$42,500
Possible maximum
$11,500
Potentially unclaimed
$0

Contributing about 50% of eligible pay captures the documented maximum under this simplified estimate.

Vesting: Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.

Estimate only. Compensation limits, eligibility, true-ups, contribution timing, employee groups, and plan amendments can change the result. Confirm the current formula in your plan documents.

Filing comparison · 202567out of 100 among similar-size plans in the same industry when enough peers exist

How this filing compares

Reported employer contributions94th percentileTypical peer $2,970 · based on 390 comparable plans
Lower reported administrative expense3rd percentileTypical peer $60 · based on 387 comparable plans

This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.

Peer-group method: size. The comparison used the most specific peer group with enough valid filings.

The short version

What employees should know

For the year ended Dec 31, 2025, MICROSOFT CORPORATION reported $1,179,291,008 in employer contributions across this plan, or $10,211 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.

People actively participating115,488

Down 2.8% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.

Employer money over timeUp 9.9%

Change in employer contributions per active participant.

Plan costs over timeUp 86.2%

Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.

Peer comparison67/100

Compared with similarly sized plans in the same industry.

Money and scale

Contributions, assets, and expenses

These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.

Employer contributions
$1,179,291,008
$10,211 per active participant
Participant contributions
$3,071,800,398
Other contributions
$436,246,841
Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
Employer share of contributions
25.2%
Active participants
115,488
Very large plan
Total participants
184,329
183,509 at the beginning of the year
Ending assets
$77,853,223,310
$422,360 per participant
Net-asset change
Up 46.3%
Not the same as investment performance
Beginning net assets
$65,624,033,827
Ending net assets
$77,813,570,343
Beginning liabilities
$21,977,811
Ending liabilities
$39,652,967
Total income
$17,085,562,474
Total expenses
$4,896,025,958
Administrative expenses
$42,959,933
$233 per active participant
Participant loans
$260,395,359
0.3% of plan assets

Three-year filing history

How the reported figures changed

Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.

Employer money per active participant
2023
$9,295
2024
$9,360
2025
$10,211
Administrative cost per participant
2023
$125
2024
$182
2025
$233
Active participants
2023
118,818
2024
123,878
2025
115,488
Total plan assets
2023
$53,225,853,429
2024
$65,646,011,638
2025
$77,853,223,310
Participant loans as a share of assets
2023
0.4%
2024
0.4%
2025
0.3%
Detailed filing history
Plan yearEmployer money per active participantActive participantsPlan assets
2025$10,211115,48877.9B
2024$9,360123,87865.6B
2023$9,295118,81853.2B

Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.

Plan health

Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures

Participant loans as a share of plan assets
0.3%
Independent accountant’s opinion
Unqualified opinion Code 1
Late participant contributions reported
Yes · $46,597A “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
Loan defaults reported
0
Lease defaults reported
0Only a small number of filings report these events.
Nonexempt transactions reported
0
Public plan identifier
911144442-001

Insurance and supporting schedules

Additional arrangements reported

These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.

Additional paid service providers
12$41,328,903 in separately reported direct compensation
Insurance contracts
7People covered not reported
Pooled investment entities
20$54,221,641,538 reported at year end

Reported plan details

Identity and filing status

Plan type
Retirement plan
Employer arrangement
Single-employer plan
Plan effective date
Jan 1, 1987
Industry
Information
Amended filing
No
Final filing for this plan
No
Short plan year
No
401(k) feature reported
Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes2E2F2G2I2J2K2O2R2T3H

Companies paid by the plans

Service providers named in the latest filings

Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.

ProviderPossible roleHow certain?Plan yearDirect compensationIndirect compensation
BLACKROCK INSTITUTIONAL TRUST CO.otherTentative2024Not reportedunknown
GEODE CAPITAL MANAGEMENTotherTentative2024Not reportedunknown
THE VANGUARD GROUP, INC.otherTentative2024Not reportedunknown

Current plan terms

What the source documents say

Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.

Employer contribution
For most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.
Eligibility
Regular and retail-services employees of participating employers on U.S. payroll who are at least 18 may enroll at any time.
Vesting
Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.
Investment information
Participants direct their accounts among mutual funds, collective trusts, separately managed accounts, and an optional brokerage account. New contributions to Microsoft common stock have not been allowed since 2016.
Roth contributions
Available. Participants may contribute on a pre-tax and/or Roth basis, subject to plan and IRS limits.
Participant fees
Microsoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.
Not covered by the source: 1 item

automatic enrollment. Check the latest summary plan description or enrollment materials for these details.

Source: Microsoft Corporation Savings Plus 401(k) Plan — 2024 Form 11-K ↗ · dated Dec 31, 2024

Filing evidence

Open the selected public records

We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.

Quick answers

Microsoft 401(k) questions

What is Microsoft's 401(k) match?

The reviewed current source says: For most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.

How much employer money did Microsoft report adding?

For 2025, the selected filing reports $1,179,291,008 in employer contributions, or $10,211 per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.

What is Microsoft's 401(k) vesting schedule?

The reviewed current source says: Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.

What are Microsoft's 401(k) fees?

The reviewed current source says: Microsoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.

Can I use this page to compare Microsoft with another job offer?

Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.

Filing ACK_ID20260724135502NAL0012679475001
Data sourceDOL Form 5500 bulk data ↗
Filing searchEFAST2 ↗