Department of Labor filing

The Prudential Insurance Company of America 401(k) plan

THE PRUDENTIAL EMPLOYEE SAVINGS PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2024

Spot something wrong?
Latest public filing 2024 · received Sep 24, 2025Current benefit source Prudential Employee Savings Plan — 2025 Form 11-K · dated Dec 31, 2025

Plan summary

Start with the match, vesting, and fees

Strong

This looks strong based on reviewed current plan terms. We have 7 of 7 key current terms documented. Keep checking the source links because plan rules can change.

Why: The employer match is competitive. You own the match immediately. Reported employer money is near the middle of its peer group.

78Benefit score
from current terms
73Plan health
from public filings
7/7Complete current-term coverage
documented
See what drives the plan health score
Employer contributions versus peers56/10030% of the full model
Active-participant trend49/10010% of the full model
Net-asset trend62/10010% of the full model
Participant-loan burden100/10010% of the full model
Reported compliance signals100/10010% of the full model
Filing completeness100/10010% of the full model

Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.

See what drives the benefit quality score
Maximum employer match70/10025% of the full model
Vesting100/10015% of the full model
Employee fee evidence60/10015% of the full model
Investment choices55/10015% of the full model
Eligibility timing100/10010% of the full model
Automatic enrollment80/10010% of the full model
Roth 401(k) access100/10010% of the full model

This separate score uses reviewed current terms only. It requires the employer contribution plus at least three other documented benefit measures. Missing terms are excluded, not treated as poor benefits.

Employer matchUp to 4%Competitive

Prudential matches employee pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar up to 4% of eligible pay—a maximum match equal to 4% of pay.

Check the source ↓
Value at $100,000 of pay$4,000 a year

Assumes you contribute enough to earn the full match (4% of pay). Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.

When the money is yoursImmediately

Your contributions are immediately vested.

Fees paid by employeesSee how costs are paid

Prudential generally pays the cost of maintaining the plan.

Investment menuPlan choices documented

Participants direct contributions among the plan's investment choices.

When you can joinRight away

Eligible employees can enroll starting on their first day of employment.

Automatic enrollment4% default rate

Newly eligible employees are automatically enrolled at 4% of eligible pay as Roth 401(k) contributions unless they opt out or choose another rate.

Roth 401(k)Offered

Available. Employees may combine pre-tax, Roth, and traditional after-tax contributions, and eligible balances can be converted to Roth within the plan.

Employer money vs. similar plans$5,241

Up 12.8% over the filing history shown.

Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.

Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.

Need the raw filing detail?

The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.

Personalized estimate

What could The Prudential Insurance Company of America's contribution mean for you?

This uses the reviewed employer formula shown on this profile—not the plan-wide Form 5500 contribution average.

Estimated employer money$3,400/year
Your annual contribution
$3,400
Possible maximum
$3,400
Potentially unclaimed
$0

Contributing about 4% of eligible pay captures the documented maximum under this simplified estimate.

Vesting: Your contributions are immediately vested. Prudential matching contributions generally become fully vested after three years of service, with earlier vesting at age 65, death, or total disability while employed.

Estimate only. Compensation limits, eligibility, true-ups, contribution timing, employee groups, and plan amendments can change the result. Confirm the current formula in your plan documents.

Filing comparison · 2024—There is not enough comparable filing data to calculate this yet.

How this filing compares

Reported employer contributions56th percentileTypical peer $4,523 · based on 160 comparable plans
Lower reported administrative expenseNot enough dataTypical peer $66 · based on 152 comparable plans

This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.

Peer-group method: industry size. Limitations: administrative_cost_measure_unavailable_or_zero

The short version

What employees should know

For the year ended Dec 31, 2024, THE PRUDENTIAL INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA reported $85,158,725 in employer contributions across this plan, or $5,241 per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.

People actively participating16,248

Down 0.4% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.

Employer money over timeUp 12.8%

Change in employer contributions per active participant.

Plan costs over timeDown 100.0%

Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.

Peer comparisonVery large plan

A fair peer score is not available yet.

Money and scale

Contributions, assets, and expenses

These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.

Employer contributions
$85,158,725
$5,241 per active participant
Participant contributions
$299,279,381
Other contributions
Not reported
Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
Employer share of contributions
22.2%
Active participants
16,248
Very large plan
Total participants
38,003
43,542 at the beginning of the year
Ending assets
$10,734,347,566
$282,461 per participant
Net-asset change
Up 9.5%
Not the same as investment performance
Beginning net assets
$10,420,610,174
Ending net assets
$10,729,306,593
Beginning liabilities
$11,209,517
Ending liabilities
$5,040,973
Total income
$1,569,935,126
Total expenses
$1,261,238,707
Administrative expenses
$0
$0 per active participant
Participant loans
$30,456,517
0.3% of plan assets

Three-year filing history

How the reported figures changed

Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.

Employer money per active participant
2022
$4,645
2023
$4,741
2024
$5,241
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$0
2023
$0
2024
$0
Active participants
2022
16,321
2023
17,685
2024
16,248
Total plan assets
2022
$9,797,149,100
2023
$10,431,819,691
2024
$10,734,347,566
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
0.3%
2023
0.3%
2024
0.3%
Detailed filing history
Plan yearEmployer money per active participantActive participantsPlan assets
2024$5,24116,24810.7B
2023$4,74117,68510.4B
2022$4,64516,3219.8B

Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.

Plan health

Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures

Participant loans as a share of plan assets
0.3%
Independent accountant’s opinion
Unqualified opinion Code 1
Late participant contributions reported
Not reportedA “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
Loan defaults reported
0
Lease defaults reported
0Only a small number of filings report these events.
Nonexempt transactions reported
0
Public plan identifier
221211670-002

Insurance and supporting schedules

Additional arrangements reported

These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.

Insurance contracts
274,802 people reported as covered
Pooled investment entities
8$4,968,412,196 reported at year end

Reported plan details

Identity and filing status

Plan type
Retirement plan
Employer arrangement
Single-employer plan
Plan effective date
Jul 1, 1970
Industry
Finance and insurance
Amended filing
No
Final filing for this plan
No
Short plan year
No
401(k) feature reported
Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes2E2F2G2J2K2O2S2T3F3H

Companies paid by the plans

Service providers named in the latest filings

Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.

ProviderPossible roleHow certain?Plan yearDirect compensationIndirect compensation
THE PRUDENTIAL INSURANCE COMPANYotherTentative2024Not reportedunknown

Current plan terms

What the source documents say

Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.

Employer contribution
Prudential matches employee pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar up to 4% of eligible pay—a maximum match equal to 4% of pay. The company may also make discretionary contributions.
Eligibility
Eligible employees can enroll starting on their first day of employment.
Vesting
Your contributions are immediately vested. Prudential matching contributions generally become fully vested after three years of service, with earlier vesting at age 65, death, or total disability while employed.
Investment information
Participants direct contributions among the plan's investment choices. Automatically enrolled employees default into the plan's designated qualified default investment fund.
Automatic enrollment
Newly eligible employees are automatically enrolled at 4% of eligible pay as Roth 401(k) contributions unless they opt out or choose another rate.
Roth contributions
Available. Employees may combine pre-tax, Roth, and traditional after-tax contributions, and eligible balances can be converted to Roth within the plan.
Participant fees
Prudential generally pays the cost of maintaining the plan. Borrowers pay loan-administration fees from their accounts, and investment expenses reduce fund returns.

Source: Prudential Employee Savings Plan — 2025 Form 11-K ↗ · dated Dec 31, 2025

Filing evidence

Open the selected public records

We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.

Quick answers

The Prudential Insurance Company of America 401(k) questions

What is The Prudential Insurance Company of America's 401(k) match?

The reviewed current source says: Prudential matches employee pre-tax and Roth contributions dollar for dollar up to 4% of eligible pay—a maximum match equal to 4% of pay. The company may also make discretionary contributions.

How much employer money did The Prudential Insurance Company of America report adding?

For 2024, the selected filing reports $85,158,725 in employer contributions, or $5,241 per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.

What is The Prudential Insurance Company of America's 401(k) vesting schedule?

The reviewed current source says: Your contributions are immediately vested. Prudential matching contributions generally become fully vested after three years of service, with earlier vesting at age 65, death, or total disability while employed.

What are The Prudential Insurance Company of America's 401(k) fees?

The reviewed current source says: Prudential generally pays the cost of maintaining the plan. Borrowers pay loan-administration fees from their accounts, and investment expenses reduce fund returns.

Can I use this page to compare The Prudential Insurance Company of America with another job offer?

Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.

Filing ACK_ID20250924132044NAL0017172210001
Data sourceDOL Form 5500 bulk data ↗
Filing searchEFAST2 ↗