AMAZON.COM SERVICES, LLC vs. MICROSOFT CORPORATION
Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.
Use your numbers
What could each 401(k) add to the offer?
Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.
This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.
Possible first-year employer moneyNot availableNot available
Your contribution each year$6,000$50,000
Employer money vested when you leaveNot availableNot available
AMAZON.COM SERVICES, LLC: what to confirm
Match: Amazon matches 50% of employee contributions through 4% of eligible pay—a maximum company match equal to 2% of eligible pay. Catch-up contributions are not matched.
Vesting: The company match becomes fully vested after three years of vesting service. A vesting year generally requires 1,000 hours of service in a calendar year.
Eligibility: The published terms apply to eligible U.S. employees outside Hawaii. Benefits can vary by location, scheduled hours, length of employment, and seasonal or temporary status.
Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.
MICROSOFT CORPORATION: what to confirm
Match: For most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.
Vesting: Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.
Eligibility: Regular and retail-services employees of participating employers on U.S. payroll who are at least 18 may enroll at any time.
Employee fees: Microsoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.
This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.
Plain-English comparison
Where each plan appears stronger
MICROSOFT CORPORATION has the higher current benefit quality score.
MICROSOFT CORPORATION has the higher filing-based plan health score.
MICROSOFT CORPORATION ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
AMAZON.COM SERVICES, LLC ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
MICROSOFT CORPORATION currently has more reviewed benefit details.
This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.
AMAZON.COM SERVICES, LLC
AMAZON 401(K) PLAN
2023 filing
Plan health score
63/100 · FairHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
54/100 · FairMedium confidence based on 4 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
4 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAmazon matches 50% of employee contributions through 4% of eligible pay—a maximum company match equal to 2% of eligible pay. Catch-up contributions are not matched.
Potential employer value
$2,000 a year at $100,000 paySpecial limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedThe company match becomes fully vested after three years of vesting service. A vesting year generally requires 1,000 hours of service in a calendar year.
Participation
90% proxy1,209,303 active participants ÷ 1,336,478 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$4 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
65/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
86/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedFor most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.
Potential employer value
$11,500 a year at $100,000 payContribute 50% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedParticipants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.
Participation
63% proxy115,488 active participants ÷ 184,329 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$233 per participantMicrosoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.
History, not a snapshot
AMAZON.COM SERVICES, LLC
Employer money per active participant
2022
$672
2023
$710
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$4
2023
$4
Active participants
2022
1,103,349
2023
1,209,303
Total plan assets
2022
$17,732,345,025
2023
$26,152,051,943
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.5%
2023
1.3%
MICROSOFT CORPORATION
Employer money per active participant
2023
$9,295
2024
$9,360
2025
$10,211
Administrative cost per participant
2023
$125
2024
$182
2025
$233
Active participants
2023
118,818
2024
123,878
2025
115,488
Total plan assets
2023
$53,225,853,429
2024
$65,646,011,638
2025
$77,853,223,310
Participant loans as a share of assets
2023
0.4%
2024
0.4%
2025
0.3%
Read this comparison carefully
Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.
Amazon vs. Microsoft 401(k): Match, Fees, Vesting and Plan Review | 401(k) Plan Report