Compare two employers

APPLE INC. vs. MICROSOFT CORPORATION

Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.

vs.

Use your numbers

What could each 401(k) add to the offer?

Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.

APPLE INC.
MICROSOFT CORPORATION
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.

This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.

EstimateAPPLE INC.MICROSOFT CORPORATION
Estimated employer money each yearNot available$11,500
Possible first-year employer moneyNot availableNot available
Your contribution each year$6,000$50,000
Employer money vested when you leaveNot availableNot available

APPLE INC.: what to confirm

Match: Apple confirms that it makes 401(k) matching contributions for U.S. employees, but its public filing does not disclose the current percentage formula. The filing reports up to $21,000 contributed for named executives in 2025 under terms available to U.S. employees generally.

Vesting: Ask for the current vesting schedule.

Eligibility: Apple states that its 401(k) matching benefit is available to U.S. employees on the same terms, but the public filing does not state a waiting period.

Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.

MICROSOFT CORPORATION: what to confirm

Match: For most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.

Vesting: Participants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.

Eligibility: Regular and retail-services employees of participating employers on U.S. payroll who are at least 18 may enroll at any time.

Employee fees: Microsoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.

This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.

Plain-English comparison

Where each plan appears stronger

  • There is not enough reviewed current information to compare overall benefit quality.
  • APPLE INC. has the higher filing-based plan health score.
  • MICROSOFT CORPORATION ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
  • APPLE INC. ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
  • MICROSOFT CORPORATION currently has more reviewed benefit details.

This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.

APPLE INC.

APPLE 401(K) PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
85/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
Not enough reviewed termsThe match plus at least three other current benefit measures must be documented.
Current benefits verified
2 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedApple confirms that it makes 401(k) matching contributions for U.S. employees, but its public filing does not disclose the current percentage formula. The filing reports up to $21,000 contributed for named executives in 2025 under terms available to U.S. employees generally.
Vesting
Not verifiedA dated plan document is still needed.
Participation
70% proxy101,217 active participants ÷ 145,428 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$51 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

MICROSOFT CORPORATION

MICROSOFT CORPORATION SAVINGS PLUS 401K PLAN

2025 filing
Plan health score
65/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
86/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 6 reviewed terms.
Current benefits verified
6 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedFor most participants, Microsoft contributes $0.50 for every $1 of eligible pre-tax or Roth contributions, matching contributions up to 50% of the annual IRS employee-contribution limit. The maximum $11,500 match shown for 2024 changes with the IRS limit. InXile and Double Fine participants were subject to a lower 25% formula.
Potential employer value
$11,500 a year at $100,000 payContribute 50% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Current terms verifiedParticipants are fully vested in their plan accounts at all times.
Participation
63% proxy115,488 active participants ÷ 184,329 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$233 per participantMicrosoft pays administrative expenses not paid or offset by the plan. Participants pay fees for services they use, including loans, domestic-relations-order reviews, some check services, professional management, and Microsoft-stock trading commissions.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

Same filing measures

See the scale of the difference

Employer money per active participant
APPLE INC.$7,249
MICROSOFT CORPORATION$10,211
Plan-paid costs per participant
APPLE INC.$51
MICROSOFT CORPORATION$233
Active participants
APPLE INC.101,217
MICROSOFT CORPORATION115,488

Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.

History, not a snapshot

APPLE INC.

Employer money per active participant
2022
$5,614
2023
$6,698
2024
$7,249
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$57
2023
$65
2024
$51
Active participants
2022
106,111
2023
101,450
2024
101,217
Total plan assets
2022
$14,996,693,519
2023
$19,779,511,539
2024
$24,714,519,387
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.2%
2023
1.0%
2024
0.9%

MICROSOFT CORPORATION

Employer money per active participant
2023
$9,295
2024
$9,360
2025
$10,211
Administrative cost per participant
2023
$125
2024
$182
2025
$233
Active participants
2023
118,818
2024
123,878
2025
115,488
Total plan assets
2023
$53,225,853,429
2024
$65,646,011,638
2025
$77,853,223,310
Participant loans as a share of assets
2023
0.4%
2024
0.4%
2025
0.3%
Read this comparison carefully

Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.