Compare two employers

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION vs. BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION

Choose two employers. We will compare current terms where they are documented, estimate employer dollars using your assumptions, and keep historical filing measures separate.

vs.

Use your numbers

What could each 401(k) add to the offer?

Enter the salary, contribution, and time you expect to stay. The estimate uses only documented employer formulas; missing terms remain missing.

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION
Vesting-adjusted value cannot be compared until both vesting schedules are documented.

This compares employer retirement money only—not salary, taxes, health insurance, bonuses, or equity.

EstimateJPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONBANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION
Estimated employer money each year$5,000Not available
Possible first-year employer moneyNot availableNot available
Your contribution each year$5,000$6,000
Employer money vested when you leaveNot availableNot available

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION: what to confirm

Match: After one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.

Vesting: Ask for the current vesting schedule.

Eligibility: Ask when contributions and the match begin.

Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.

BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION: what to confirm

Match: After 12 months of vesting service, Bank of America matches eligible contributions up to 5% of plan-eligible compensation and provides an annual 2% company contribution, increasing to 3% after 10 years of vesting service. An end-of-year true-up match is also provided.

Vesting: Ask for the current vesting schedule.

Eligibility: Ask when contributions and the match begin.

Employee fees: Ask for the participant fee disclosure.

This is a planning estimate, not a benefit determination. Compensation definitions, contribution timing, annual limits, true-ups, employee groups, and plan changes can affect the result. Confirm the current terms with each employer.

Plain-English comparison

Where each plan appears stronger

  • There is not enough reviewed current information to compare overall benefit quality.
  • BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION has the higher filing-based plan health score.
  • BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION ranks higher for reported employer contributions.
  • JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ranks better for lower reported administrative cost.
  • The same number of current benefit fields has been reviewed for both employers.

This is evidence triage, not a recommendation. Current plan terms and the overall job offer still matter.

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

JPMORGAN CHASE 401(K) SAVINGS PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
71/100 · StrongHigh confidence based on 7 available measures.
Current benefit quality
Not enough reviewed termsThe match plus at least three other current benefit measures must be documented.
Current benefits verified
1 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAfter one year of service, JPMorgan Chase generally matches 100% of eligible pre-tax and Roth contributions up to 5% of eligible compensation, subject to year-end employment and compensation rules. The 2025 filing describes a $10,000 annual match cap for employees earning $350,000–$999,999 and no match at $1 million or more.
Potential employer value
$5,000 a year at $100,000 payContribute 5% to capture the documented maximum. Special limits and eligibility rules may apply.
Vesting
Not verifiedA dated plan document is still needed.
Participation
62% proxy185,310 active participants ÷ 300,272 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$73 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION

THE BANK OF AMERICA 401(K) PLAN

2024 filing
Plan health score
87/100 · ExcellentHigh confidence based on 6 available measures.
Current benefit quality
Not enough reviewed termsThe match plus at least three other current benefit measures must be documented.
Current benefits verified
1 of 7Coverage shows what is documented. It does not improve the health score by itself.
Employer money
Current terms verifiedAfter 12 months of vesting service, Bank of America matches eligible contributions up to 5% of plan-eligible compensation and provides an annual 2% company contribution, increasing to 3% after 10 years of vesting service. An end-of-year true-up match is also provided.
Vesting
Not verifiedA dated plan document is still needed.
Participation
67% proxy168,229 active participants ÷ 250,040 total participants at year-end.
Plan-paid costs
$0 per participantFund expenses and employee-level fees may not appear in the filing.
Performance
Investment returns not reportedAsset changes can reflect contributions, withdrawals, transfers, and markets, so we do not present them as performance.
Open full profile →

Same filing measures

See the scale of the difference

Employer money per active participant
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION$6,810
BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION$7,651
Plan-paid costs per participant
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION$73
BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION$0
Active participants
JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION185,310
BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION168,229

Longer bars mean more, not necessarily better. Costs are one area where lower may be preferable.

History, not a snapshot

JPMORGAN CHASE BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Employer money per active participant
2022
$5,528
2023
$6,039
2024
$6,810
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$65
2023
$64
2024
$73
Active participants
2022
176,168
2023
185,180
2024
185,310
Total plan assets
2022
$36,787,229,834
2023
$44,552,237,022
2024
$52,913,457,500
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.4%
2023
1.3%
2024
1.2%

BANK OF AMERICA CORPORATION

Employer money per active participant
2022
$6,920
2023
$7,418
2024
$7,651
Administrative cost per participant
2022
$0
2023
$0
2024
$0
Active participants
2022
173,899
2023
168,963
2024
168,229
Total plan assets
2022
$47,134,026,012
2023
$54,848,846,192
2024
$62,902,405,616
Participant loans as a share of assets
2022
1.4%
2023
1.3%
2024
1.3%
Read this comparison carefully

Reported employer contributions are plan-wide totals divided by active participants—not match formulas. The participation figure is a filing-based proxy, not an employee survey. Lower reported administrative expenses do not prove lower total employee costs.