IBM 401(k) plan
IBM 401 (K) PLUS PLAN · For the plan year ended Dec 31, 2025
Legal plan sponsor: INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES CORPORATION
Plan summary
Start with the match, vesting, and fees
This looks fair based on reviewed current plan terms. We have 7 of 7 key current terms documented. Keep checking the source links because plan rules can change.
Why: No current 401(k) match is documented. You own the match immediately.
from current terms
from public filings
documented
See what drives the plan health score
Published only when at least four measures and half of the model weight are available. Missing information is excluded rather than scored as zero.
See what drives the benefit quality score
This separate score uses reviewed current terms only. It requires the employer contribution plus at least three other documented benefit measures. Missing terms are excluded, not treated as poor benefits.
IBM does not currently make employer contributions to the 401(k) Plan; those contributions ended January 1, 2024.
Check the source ↓Based on the published formula. Eligibility and annual limits can change the amount.
Employee contributions, earlier IBM contributions, and plan earnings are immediately 100% vested.
Employees who choose the managed-account service pay a fee deducted from their plan account.
The plan offers 35 primary funds plus about 160 mutual and commingled funds through its expanded-choice menu.
Eligible active full-time, part-time, and long-term supplemental U.S.
Newly hired eligible employees are automatically enrolled after about 30 days at 5% of eligible salary and performance pay unless they choose another rate or opt out.
Available. Employees may make pre-tax and Roth 401(k) contributions, as well as traditional after-tax contributions.
Not reported per active participant in 2025.
Participation down 9.2% · assets up 12.3% · loans 0.2% of assets
How this is calculated →See score distributions →Before you enroll: confirm the match, vesting schedule, waiting period, and fees in the current plan documents. The filing history shows how the plan itself has changed.
Keep in mind: public filings do not show your personal investment returns. Missing information does not count against the plan. The documents supporting the current terms are linked below.
The key takeaways are above. Open the full record when you want every number and source note.
How this filing compares
This comparison uses historical filing figures. It does not compare current match formulas, vesting, investments, or employee fees.
Peer-group method: industry size. Limitations: employer_contribution_measure_unavailable
The short version
What employees should know
For the year ended Dec 31, 2025, INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES CORPORATION reported Not reported in employer contributions across this plan, or Not reported per active participant. This is the best company-wide filing average available—not a promise of what any one employee receives.
Down 9.2% across the filing years shown. The filing does not report every employee who was eligible.
Change in employer contributions per active participant.
Change in reported administrative cost per participant. Fund expenses may be separate.
A fair peer score is not available yet.
Money and scale
Contributions, assets, and expenses
These are plan-wide totals. They are not individual account balances.
- Employer contributions
- Not reported Not reported per active participant
- Participant contributions
- $955,181,003
- Other contributions
- Not reported Amounts not classified as employer or participant contributions
- Employer share of contributions
- Not reported
- Active participants
- 47,838 Very large plan
- Total participants
- 144,897 149,818 at the beginning of the year
- Ending assets
- $64,476,933,873 $444,985 per participant
- Net-asset change
- Up 12.3% Not the same as investment performance
- Beginning net assets
- $59,358,554,739
- Ending net assets
- $63,339,527,693
- Beginning liabilities
- $1,035,001,411
- Ending liabilities
- $1,137,406,180
- Total income
- $10,351,686,643
- Total expenses
- $6,633,783,241
- Administrative expenses
- $40,093,591 $277 per active participant
- Participant loans
- $113,721,724 0.2% of plan assets
Three-year filing history
How the reported figures changed
Each chart uses the selected public filing for that year. Missing values remain blank rather than becoming zero.
| Plan year | Employer money per active participant | Active participants | Plan assets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Not reported | 47,838 | 64.5B |
| 2024 | Not reported | 49,030 | 60.4B |
| 2023 | $10,226 | 52,674 | 57.4B |
Changes in plan assets are not the same as investment performance.
Plan health
Loans, late deposits, and other filing disclosures
- Participant loans as a share of plan assets
- 0.2%
- Independent accountant’s opinion
- Unqualified opinion Code 1
- Late participant contributions reported
- Yes · $1,737,785A “yes” needs context and is not, by itself, proof of wrongdoing.
- Loan defaults reported
- 0
- Lease defaults reported
- 0Only a small number of filings report these events.
- Nonexempt transactions reported
- 0
- Public plan identifier
- 130871985-005
Insurance and supporting schedules
Additional arrangements reported
These disclosures add context. They should not be read as a score or a judgment on their own.
- Additional paid service providers
- 26$37,902,495 in separately reported direct compensation
- Compensation reported as formulas
- 5The filing describes how compensation is calculated but does not provide a comparable dollar total.
- Insurance contracts
- 32,945 people reported as covered
- Pooled investment entities
- 52$18,609,270,510 reported at year end
Reported plan details
Identity and filing status
- Plan type
- Retirement plan
- Employer arrangement
- Single-employer plan
- Plan effective date
- Jul 1, 1983
- Industry
- Professional, scientific, and technical services
- Amended filing
- No
- Final filing for this plan
- No
- Short plan year
- No
- 401(k) feature reported
- Yes
Show DOL characteristic codes
2E2F2J2K2O3J2G2S2T
Companies paid by the plans
Service providers named in the latest filings
Amounts are combined when the same provider and role appear in more than one plan. Form 5500 filings do not standardize every provider’s job, so treat the role labels as tentative; the provider name and compensation come directly from the filing.
| Provider | Possible role | How certain? | Plan year | Direct compensation | Indirect compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AQR CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, LLC | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| CAPITAL RESEARCH AND MANAGEMENT CO. | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| DIMENSIONAL FUND ADVISORS LP | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| DODGE & COX | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| FIDELITY INVESTMENTS INSTITUTIONAL | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
| HUELER INVESTMENT SERVICES, INC. | other | Tentative | 2024 | Not reported | unknown |
Current plan terms
What the source documents say
Each item below comes from the dated source linked in this section. Anything the source does not establish is left blank.
- Employer contribution
- IBM does not currently make employer contributions to the 401(k) Plan; those contributions ended January 1, 2024. Instead, eligible employees with at least one year of service receive a separate cash-balance pension credit equal to 5% of eligible pay under IBM's Retirement Benefit Account, without needing to contribute to the 401(k).
- Eligibility
- Eligible active full-time, part-time, and long-term supplemental U.S. employees can contribute from 1% to 80% of eligible pay, subject to IRS limits.
- Vesting
- Employee contributions, earlier IBM contributions, and plan earnings are immediately 100% vested.
- Investment information
- The plan offers 35 primary funds plus about 160 mutual and commingled funds through its expanded-choice menu. Employees who make no investment election default into the target-retirement fund closest to the year they turn 65.
- Automatic enrollment
- Newly hired eligible employees are automatically enrolled after about 30 days at 5% of eligible salary and performance pay unless they choose another rate or opt out.
- Roth contributions
- Available. Employees may make pre-tax and Roth 401(k) contributions, as well as traditional after-tax contributions.
- Participant fees
- Employees who choose the managed-account service pay a fee deducted from their plan account. Investment-fund earnings and expenses are reflected in each fund; the filing does not state one universal account fee.
Source: IBM 401(k) Plan — 2025 Form 11-K ↗ · dated Dec 31, 2025
Supporting source: IBM 2026 proxy statement — current retirement structure ↗ · dated Mar 6, 2026
Filing evidence
Open the selected public records
We use the latest valid received filing for each year after resolving amendments and duplicate records. Open the source to check the original filing.
Quick answers
IBM 401(k) questions
What is IBM's 401(k) match?
The reviewed current source says: IBM does not currently make employer contributions to the 401(k) Plan; those contributions ended January 1, 2024. Instead, eligible employees with at least one year of service receive a separate cash-balance pension credit equal to 5% of eligible pay under IBM's Retirement Benefit Account, without needing to contribute to the 401(k).
How much employer money did IBM report adding?
For 2025, the selected filing reports Not reported in employer contributions, or Not reported per active participant. This is a plan-level historical figure, not a personal match quote.
What is IBM's 401(k) vesting schedule?
The reviewed current source says: Employee contributions, earlier IBM contributions, and plan earnings are immediately 100% vested.
What are IBM's 401(k) fees?
The reviewed current source says: Employees who choose the managed-account service pay a fee deducted from their plan account. Investment-fund earnings and expenses are reflected in each fund; the filing does not state one universal account fee.
Can I use this page to compare IBM with another job offer?
Yes, as a starting point. Compare the documented match, vesting, eligibility, fees, investments, and the filing history, then confirm the current terms before assigning a dollar value to an offer.
Source evidence
What recent SEC filings may add
These snippets come from official SEC filings connected to the employer. They are useful clues, but we keep them separate from fully reviewed current plan terms.
Vesting
participants whose employment commencement date occurs on or after January 1, 2025, all Company contributions made on behalf of such participants are subject to a three-year cliff vesting schedule. Participants who were participating in the Plan as of December 31, 2024, remain fully vested in the balance held in their Plan accounts. A par…
Fees
net assets available for benefits attributable to this investment. Contract value represents contributions made under the contract, plus earnings, less participant withdrawals and administrative expenses. Participants may ordinarily direct the withdrawal or transfer of all or a portion of their investment at contract value. The BNYM Insig…
Investments
e (hereinafter collectively referred to as “the Committees") are responsible for the operation and management of the investment of the assets of the Plan, other than the following investment options: the “PMI Stock Investment Option”; the “Altria Stock Investment Option”; the “Mondelēz International Stock Investment Option”; and the “Kraf…
Eligibility
ing of Common Stock) are charged solely to the accounts of the participants that initiate the transactions. 3. Contributions: A participant who is not a Match-Eligible Employee is eligible to participate in the Philip Morris International Retirement Plan (a non-contributory defined benefit pension plan), and is eligible for the Grandfathe…
Automatic enrollment
de”), certain amounts for highly compensated employees are not contributed to the Plan. No contribution is required from any participant under the Plan. However, new employees are automatically enrolled in the Plan to make before-tax contributions of five percent ( 5 %) of their eligible compensation beginning with the first payroll perio…